Christmas and Beyond

Christmas has come and gone, can you believe it? Here is a look back on how we enjoyed the holidays.

We had my family over for Christmas Eve. I loved getting to use the pull out leaf of our table, and the red and white colors are perfect for the Christmas table setting!

IMG_5805

IMG_5806

Since this was our first time to host a big holiday at our house, I thought I would try some simple sounding recipes. We had lemon pesto chicken that cooked in the crock pot (so easy!) with mashed potatoes, honey roasted cauliflower, bread, and salad. All followed by a cornucopia of baked goods and sweets. I was so excited to eat I forgot to take any pictures of the food once it hit the table, but it was delicious and beautiful!

Exchanging gifts was a blast. I love giving gifts, even more than receiving them. I love finding them, making them, wrapping them, and watching them get opened! I made everyone open mine first because I just couldn’t wait! My most crafty gift was for my sister. She loves mason jars, so I made her this custom brooch using her middle name as the brand. Lots of painting, sanding, and sealing went into this one to make all the details stand out. I love it!

IMG_5808

I won the award for creepiest gift given, by making a replica of the Laura Palmer glamour shot prop from Twin Peaks for my super-fan husband. He was surprised, delighted, and a little creeped out all at once. I signed it “to Chris, from the Log Lady.”

IMG_5809

Christmas Day was spent with Chris’ family, which meant even more delicious food, sweet treats, and fun family time.

The next morning I was off with my parents to visit mom’s family in Iowa/Nebraska for my Grandmother’s 80th birthday. What a milestone! It was so fun to see everyone. We had almost that entire side of the family present. The weather was sunny and 65 degrees! What?! Their neighbors had laundry on the line, and there was no snow on the ground. My aunt & I ditched our coats and popped out for some fresh air and speed thrifting after diner before the store closed. My grandparents town may only have a few hundred residents, but they do have a killer thrift store! I found the exact mid century wire shelf I have been hunting for, as well as some milk glass plates and miscellaneous craft supplies. All in under 20 minutes!

Thrifting was the theme of our journey. There is a lot to see in the midwest, but not so much on the stretch of highway between Chicagoland Nebraska. We tried to keep things interesting by stopping to eat and thrift when we needed a break. That’s how my family gets its kicks. We even stopped by Le Claire to visit picker mecca – Antique Archaeology!

IMG_5838

I really got to stretch out the holiday celebrations this year. I got home and a couple days later it was New Year’s Eve! Chris filled in on drums for a friend’s 90s cover band. I tried to get a picture, but it was hard with him moving at warp speed.

IMG_5900

So much fun, despite the horrifying driving conditions. In case you missed it, we got some winter in these parts. At one point we checked the radar to find the storm was shaped like a thick line moving straight over our town. We are loving the electric snowblower we purchased this season!

IMG_5909

Happy new year!

One thought on “Christmas and Beyond”

  1. I love the look of your table. And the food sounded delicious. Wish we could come and enjoy with you and Chris. Loved having you come to my birthday party. I am enjoying looking at all the pictures that were taken. Our family doesn’t get together very often so we need to make the most of the times we have. Sounds like we will get together again in 2014 in Springfield for Austins wedding. Hope you will be able to be there. Love you much, Grandma

    Like

Leave a Reply

