Mini Makeovers, with Plants!

I am not extremely gifted in the agriculture department, but I wanted to give it a go with some fun plants in the living room. They really do complete the look, and of course improving the air quality is a bonus! A couple months ago I was looking for something to hold a sansevieria (“snake plant”) and of course I wanted a mid century feel. I came across this beautiful project on Pinterest using an Ikea pot and some spray paint:

2601b615debbf676fd2fb0ab92e8df8f.jpg

My birthday had just passed and I had received a Visa gift card, so once again I was able to complete a fun little project without dipping much into my own pocket. The Pinterest link only led me to this photo and the name of the Ikea pot, CASHEWNÖT. The top and bottom of the pot separate, and you can style it two ways simply by turning the bottom part over. Since the bottom pan is not very big, one of the miniature sized spray paint cans was more than enough to cover the piece. And voilàA fabulous planter!

IMG_6161.jpg

When I purchased my super cool metal cart, I also picked up a mid century plastic plant pot for a mere 50¢. The burnt orange color was not bad, just not a color used in my current decorating palette. (Please don’t hate me for painting it!) I thought the geometric design was stunning, and would pop even more in white. Now that it is finished, it reminds me of the Disneyland building that houses It’s A Small World.

planter.jpg

I already had paint left over from another project, so the most expensive part ended up being the plant, which was only about $7.

IMG_6175

These were both small and simple projects, but they enhance the overall look of the room tremendously. Now I just have to try my best to keep them healthy!

One thought on “Mini Makeovers, with Plants!”

Leave a Reply

