My Holiday Home 2014

IMG_6706

I love to decorate, but decorating for Christmas is by far my favorite. Each year I find myself eager for Halloween to be over so that the store shelves can begin their glittery transformation into holiday wonderland. I was especially excited for this year because we decided to splurge a bit on a brand new artificial tree. After a few years of struggling with our other tree, which turned out to be a bit of a dud from the start, I was finally ready to throw in the towel. I didn’t even take pictures of the tree for last year’s post because I was so disappointed with how it looked. I set my sights on a champagne colored tree, though I was skeptical that my husband would share my vision for such a sparkly and non-traditional tree. To my surprise he liked the idea. We have a small, fairly dark living room and a large dark green object made it feel smaller. We hoped that maybe a champagne tree would brighten things up a bit, and by golly it does just that!

 

IMG_6708

I try to keep the holiday decor contained to two zones: kitchen and living room, just to make it easier on myself (and those living here!) Let’s start with the living room. The wreath that I made last year has survived it’s first year of storage. (Whew!) This is probably my hardest piece to store because of the shape and extremely delicate nature of it. A few pieces did pop off, but I wasn’t quite finished filling in all the gaps with tiny ornaments after last year, so I just re-glued all the loose bits as I finished it up. Now it is nice and full.

IMG_6722

 

Mr. Rabbit has donned his festive chapeau once again.

IMG_6730

Kitschy holiday knick-knacks abound everywhere you look.

IMG_6726

IMG_6783

IMG_6774

IMG_6773

IMG_6771

IMG_6758

But the star of the show is the tree. I am just over the moon about it! My collection of vintage blown glass ornaments looks absolutely perfect among the shiny tinsel branches, and the tree itself even looks vintage. I did consider getting an actual vintage aluminum tree, but it is much harder to find the size and shape you want, and many of them cannot be strung with lights.

IMG_6784

IMG_6766

IMG_6769

IMG_6781

IMG_6777

I find myself not wanting to leave the room at night to go to bed. I just want to stay curled up on the sofa staring at the beautiful glowing tree and basking in my own little Christmas wonderland.

IMG_6753

IMG_6749

IMG_6739

Ahhh… Now, onto the kitchen!

IMG_6786

One advantage of having a mostly red and green kitchen year-round is that it easily transforms into a Christmas themed kitchen!

IMG_6793

IMG_6789

Once again, kitschy knick-knacks abound.

IMG_6788

IMG_6804

IMG_6803

IMG_6798

IMG_6806

IMG_6805

IMG_6801

IMG_6800

IMG_6809

IMG_6811

IMG_6812

IMG_6817

Even the top of the refrigerator is festive.

IMG_6821

I’d like to give a special thanks to June, the amazing photo-boming dog, for once again inserting herself into the scene. Where will she show up next? Who knows!

IMG_6754

Thanks for stopping by for another little peek into my life. Happy Holidays!

One thought on “My Holiday Home 2014”

Leave a Reply

