My New Favorite Room

img_6995

My new favorite room isn’t actually a room at all. I’ve been hard at work decorating a formerly wasted space at my house- the front porch. Since we bought the house we talked of how nice it would be to relax on our front porch, but we have never actually spent much time out there as we had intended. I set out a couple of chairs, but it wasn’t very comfortable, or much to look at. This year it has been my goal to create a welcoming and comfortable space and I have definitely achieved that.

IMG_7006.jpg

Our porch is as wide as our living room, with a roof over it to protect you from the elements. It just seemed silly not to be using it, but these things take time. Our year began with a very long and harsh winter, but it gave me time to hunt and squirrel away various pieces for the project. It was so hard to be patient waiting to get to planting season, and once it arrived I just went nuts. I have never had much luck with houseplants, but after successfully growing outdoor plants over the last couple seasons I felt confident enough to branch out a little more.

img_6967img_7014img_6980

I created a cute little side table from a plant stand and a lazy susan.

img_6965img_6997

Colanders make excellent hanging planters since they already have great drainage and are interesting to look at.

img_6990img_6954

Old tins are also a favorite of mine for planting in.

img_7027img_6958

Any container can become a planter.

IMG_7025.jpg

Of course I have to add in some whimsical critters.

img_7005img_6964

Some cute details were already there, such as our shutters, and this sweet little doorbell. Aged to perfection with its chippy red paint.

img_6993

Things are happily blooming all over.

img_7023img_7029img_6959

We are looking forward to spending the rest of the summer relaxing in our colorful new space.

One thought on “My New Favorite Room”

Leave a Reply

