Fun With Vellum

Friday Crafternoon: A little inspiration for your weekend!

This week I’ve been playing with vellum. I’ve always loved the affect this material gives when layered over something, however I rarely incorporate it into my projects. It turns out that the Silhouette Cameo is very good at cutting vellum, so I’ve just been going to town making some really fun stuff! I hope you like it!

I started with an experiment to make envelopes, and after a few prototypes I came up with two different sizes – mini and itty-bitty.

img_8289

The itty-bitty are just the perfect size for my little flamingo die cuts. Adding some sequins turns these envelopes into a fun little shaker!

img_8294

img_8275

To make these envelopes, I cut a flat shape, then use a cardboard template and a bone folder to fold the flaps in.

img_8269

img_8270

img_8271

img_8272

A little double sided tape on the flaps, and there you have it!

img_8285

These envelopes are great for making a memorable business card presentation, or a fun way to give a gift card. I used a bit of fun washi tape on the back for easy opening and extra decoration.

img_8282

img_8280

As if the endless possibilities for the plain envelopes wasn’t enough, vellum comes in a wide variety of colors and patterns. How sweet is that polka dot one!?

img_8290

To fill in the negative space on my sheet when cutting I added some other fun shapes such as startburst medallions and flag tags. Both of these shapes combine well with a paper rosette and button.

img_8299

The vellum tags can be used by themselves, or layered with some cardstock. I used a simple eyelet to attach the two layers. Some of these items will probably be finding their way into my Etsy shop soon!

img_8309

What would you put in a vellum envelope?

Leave a Reply

